The Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana are split up into 4 suits, the first of which is the Suit of Wands.

Wands represent creativity and action; they are most closely linked to the Magician card of the Major Arcana. Where the Magician served as the actual or potential master of the four domains, the Wand represents the tool with which they come to master and manipulate these domains. It is your creativity and your action that allows you to manipulate the four domains of the Tarot.

Below you will find a link to each post detailing the cards of the Suit of Wands

The second suit is the Suit of Cups.

Cups represent emotions and feelings, depicted as hearts within regular playing card decks. The Cup has many different interpretations within occult traditions, but the most prominent association is with the geometric shape of an inverted triangle as a rudimentary depiction of a womb.

Below you will find a link to each post detailing the cards of the Suit of Cups

The third suit is the Suit of Swords

Swords represent thinking and communication and are depicted as spades in regular playing card decks; the word spade comes from the Latin word ‘spatha’ which in turn is derived from the Greek meaning sword or broad blade. The origin of the Sword as a representation of thought is disputed but one possible source may have been the writings of Paul the Apostle in his Epistle to the Ephesians within which he refers to the Sword of the Spirit, often interpreted as the word of God, or simply interpreted as human sentience and the ability to make conscious choices that we are aware of rather than relying solely on impulse and instincts.

Below you will find a link to each post detailing the cards of the Suit of Swords

The final suit of the Minor Arcana is the Suit of Pentacles

Pentacles, which are often depicted as golden coins, upon which the pentacle is drawn, represent wealth and the material realm. Whilst most often associated with financial prosperity, the wealth depicted can be interpreted as the accumulation of anything physical or tangible; if you can touch it, or put a price on it in order to buy it or sell it, then it falls under the domain of the Pentacles.

Pentacles can also be interpreted as intangible wealth but in this instance, it must have the capacity to be made tangible; the emphasis here is placed on potential. Emotional wealth for instance is not considered part of the domain of Pentacles as it belongs to the Suit of Cups, unless that emotional wealth has the potential to turn tangible, for example good faith, hospitality, charity, inheritance, or through gifts and donations. To give another example, time is a resource which is intangible, you can’t touch it, but you can buy and sell it in the form of labour devoting your time in exchange for financial reward or paying someone else for their time.

Below you will find a link to each post detailing the cards of the Suit of Pentacles

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are moderated before they are published. If you want your comment to remain private please state that clearly.